Tuesday, November 24, 2015

[Review] Boyfriend Glasses

Title: Boyfriend Glasses (Greta Bell #1)
Author: Livia Harper
Genre: Psychological Thriller, Mystery
Published: September 24, 2015
Source: Copy provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.
Quicklinks: Amazon | Goodreads

{SUMMARY} The first time Greta saw Blake, she knew he was the one. Knew it like fire knows tinder.
She hadn't thought she’d be at a frat party her first week in college, but her roommate, Amber, convinced her to go. Greta couldn't believe how easy it was to get in. It seemed like they threw those parties just so girls like her would come. But she was pretty now, and everything was different. No one knew anything about her ugly duckling past or all the darkness before. It was a whole new world, a brand new start. Then she saw Blake and knew he was her destiny.
But Blake saw Amber first. And he got...confused. Blake was her soul mate. She could tell. She knew all about soul mates.
Too bad about her last one.
BOYFRIEND GLASSES is the first book in a trilogy of dark psychological thrillers perfect for fans of THE TALENTED MR. RIPLEY or GONE GIRL.  
Spoilers are within this review and will be marked accordingly. To avoid the spoilers, look for the beginning [SPOILER] and skip until you read [/SPOILER]
WHEW. What a freakin' trip that was. Boyfriend Glasses is a captivating thriller following the wonderful and deadly Greta Bell. I have to say that Greta most certainly scared the crap out of me, if not creeped me out for 99% of the book, and to be honest, coming from me, that's saying a lot. The author does an absolutely amazing job making you feel uncomfortable reading from Greta's perspective, throwing us into her screwed up mind with so little as a warning about what we're getting ourselves into. However, Ms. Harper also knows how to make you want something good to happen to her so that she may get her screwed up version of a happy ending, regardless of her twisted mind.
The characters were great and the back story was well done. I especially loved how the scenes skipped back and forth to reveal what happened in the past to her previous "love," Johnny. Ms. Harper does a great job keeping mystery alive and keeping you on your toes at all times, making it hard to stop reading until you hit the end. My current "she's a psychopath" counter is at: 27 (that's how many times I said/thought that sentence) and it's true; she really is, and it's absolutely refreshing to be able to read a perspective of such a character as Greta.
[SPOILER]As the story went on, I really began hoping that Blake and Greta would live their psycho lives together (being their own type of psycho), but with the remaining mystery, I began to wonder if Greta could truly do so much harm as kill someone.[/SPOILER]
In all honesty, I was going to rate this book with 4 out of 5. Until I read the ending. The ending was just so perfect that I just couldn't justify the 4 gears anymore and just HAD to give it the rating it truly deserves. I cannot wait to read the others!!!!
Interested in reading Boyfriend Glasses? For a limited time, you can get the book for FREE, yes, FREE, at http://www.liviaharper.com/



No comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe

GET THE LATEST IN YOUR EMAIL!

Bookstagram

Monthly Readers